<<< back forward >>>
9  Wars since 1945


But:  What is war really?  People, who suffer from war know what war is.  The historian needs concepts.  Attempts to define war are as difficult as they are necessary.  The portrayal at our museum of the wars since 1945 has been based upon the definition supplied by the Hungarian Peace Researcher István Kende (1917-1988):

War is a mass-conflict of violence, which displays the following criteria:
a) two or more armed forces participate in the fighting, in which, at least on one of the sides, regular armed forces of the government are involved (military, paramilitary organizations, police)
b) on both sides there must be at least a minimum of centrally-controlled organization who conducts the war and the fighting . . .
c) the armed operations take place with a certain continuity and are not only occasional, spontaneous conflicts . . .

Detailed information concerning the wars since 1945, compiled by the “Working Group for the Research of the Cause of War” (Arbeitsgemeinschaft Kriegsursachenforschung) at the University of Hamburg, may be found at the Internet Terminal at the entrance of the Museum.

World War II has remained the last war on German soil up to the present day.  Even now, at the beginning of the Third Millenium, however, a large portion of the world’s population lives under the murderous and destructive conditions of war.  95 % of the wars, whether they be civil wars or wars between countries, have taken place in developing nations.  Above all, it is Africa and Southeast Asia, which have been the “battlefields” of our world.

As a monument against peacelessness, as a place against forgetting, suppressing and overlooking, this room lists all wars since the end of World War II, noting who was involved and what the issues of conflict were.  Within the room, the arrangement has been set up according to the geographical direction of the battlefields.

<<< zurück weiter >>>
9  Kriege seit 1945


Aber:  Was ist eigentlich Krieg?  Menschen, die unter einem Krieg leiden, wissen, was Krieg ist.  Der Historiker braucht Begriffe.  Definitionsversuche zum Thema Krieg sind ebenso schwierig wie notwendig.  Die Darstellung der Kriege seit 1945 in unserem Museum legt die Definition des ungarischen Friedensforschers István Kende (1917-1988) zugrunde:

Krieg ist ein gewaltsamer Massenkonflikt, der alle folgenden Merkmale aufweist:
a) an den Kämpfen sind zwei oder mehr bewaffnete Streitkräfte beteiligt, bei denen es sich mindestens auf einer Seite um reguläre Streitkräfte (Militär, paramilitärische Verbände, Polizeieinheiten) der Regierung handelt
b) auf beiden Seiten muss ein Mindestmaß an zentralgelenkter Organisation der Kriegführenden und des Kampfes gegeben sein . . .
c) die bewaffneten Operationen ereignen sich mit einer gewissen Kontinuierlichkeit und nicht nur als gelegentliche, spontane Zusammenstöße . . .

Ausführliche Informationen zu den Kriegen seit 1945, die die Arbeitsgemeinschaft Kriegsursachenforschung der Universität Hamburg zusammengestellt hat, finden Sie im Internet-Terminal am Eingang des Museums. 

Der Zweite Weltkrieg ist der bis heute letzte Krieg auf deutschem Territorium.  Ein großer Teil der Menschheit aber lebt zu Beginn des dritten Jahrtausends in mörderischen und zerstörerischen Kriegszuständen.  95 % der seit 1945 geführten inner- und zwischenstaatlichen Kriege finden in Entwicklungsländern statt.  Vor allem Afrika und Südostasien sind die „Kriegsschauplätze“ unserer Welt.

Als Mahnung gegen die Friedlosigkeit, als Ort gegen das Vergessen, Verdrängen und Übersehen sind in diesem Raum alle Kriege seit Ende des Zweiten Weltkrieges unter Angabe der beteiligten Akteure und der Konfliktgegenstände aufgelistet.  Die Anordnung im Raum erfolgt nach der Himmelsrichtung der Kriegsplätze.