The Bridge at Remagen - Monument to Peace and Freedom
The railway bridge in Remagen was planned in 1912 and built from 1916 - 1918 during the First World War to bring troops to the Western Front. ‘Kaiser Wilhelm II’ named it "Ludendorff Bridge" in honour of the General Quartermaster of the Army, Erich Ludendorff.
During the Second World War, it achieved the fame it still enjoys today when, on 7 March 1945, soldiers of the 9th ‘US Panzer Division’ were able to capture the Ludendorff Bridge completely unexpectedly and undestroyed. On the German side, the prepared demolition had failed. General Eisenhower is said to have commented on this "Miracle of Remagen" with the exclamation "The bridge is worth its weight in gold".
When Hans Peter Kürten became mayor of Remagen in 1965, he was astonished to find that nothing, apart from the dilapidated ruins of the bridge towers, reminded of the terrible events of 1945. It would take another 15 years until he was able to realise his idea of a museum in the bridge towers in 1980. As a member of the last generation to experience the war himself, he chose the name "Peace Museum".
The museum impressively displays pictures and documents of that time, everyday objects and equipment of the soldiers fighting at the bridge and much more. The visitor is immersed in the historical events of the battle for the Remagen Bridge at its original site and will understand the significance inherent in the conquest of this bridge and the courage and determination it took to accept the real dangers involved, including one's own death.